SAP Consultant Wins 30u30 LGBTIQ+ by Out for Australia

SAP Consultant Wins 30u30 LGBTIQ+ by Out for Australia

Out for Australia first existed as Out for Sydney in September 2013 in Sydney and was officially launched as Out for Australia in March 2015 as an organisation that seeks to support and mentor aspiring LGBTIQ professionals.

The inaugural 30 Under 30 LGBTIQ+ Role Model Awards run by Out for Australia supported by the Boston Consulting Group has awarded SAP’s Delia Deng, Solutions Consultant in the Intelligent Spend Group at SAP, as one of the 30 young winners.

The event was hosted by BCG last 25 September 2019 in Sydney and was attended by the 30 winners, their family and friends, BCG, OFA volunteers and partners, and key community leaders.

Deng, as an out and proud LGBTIQ+ woman from a culturally diverse background, was also one of the category winners for “Success in their Career”. With an extensive background in the banking industry and IT, now in SAP, Deng is proud to help organisations and C-Suite leaders spend more intelligently using technology, and in more diverse businesses (LGBTQI+, Indigenous, minority businesses, etc.).

 “I hope this award shows people, from a culturally and academically diverse background, that they are not alone. Together, we are able to smash all kinds of ceilings and succeed in all our pursuits,” Delia said.

“I want to give a special shout out to Giancarlo de Vera from Out for Australia for nominating me and shining a light on my profile, and my manager Nikolai Lavrentiev, Head of ANZ Presales, Intelligent Spend Group, who attended the event to support me. The work Out for Australia do is incredibly important. It helps to support aspiring LGBTIQ+ professionals, by promoting the positive impact we have in our offices and communities,” the SAP consultant added.

Out for Australia Director of Community Partnerships Giancarlo de Vera commended Deng and said:

Huge congratulations to Delia for her win. At Out for Australia, we hope this will empower more LGBTIQ+ Australians to feel confident in their workplaces.”

De Vera shared that according to the research of the Australian Workplace Equality Index (AWEI), 1 in 2 Asian-Australians fear discrimination in the workplace, with young people feeling even more vulnerable and only 1 in 4 LGBTIQ+ young people feel comfortable being out at work. He emphasized:

 “This needs to change. We hope our awards will help raise awareness of the challenges LGBTIQ+ people can face at work. Role models like Delia and the others nominated can show others that you can be out at work and thrive.

Out for Australia has recognised the 30u30 winners who have exemplified courage working as young LGBTIQ+ champions in their communities, universities, and workplaces.

The judging panel searched for role models who demonstrated the following:

  1. Tangible contribution to bettering the lives of LGBTIQ+ people in Australia.
  2. Success in their respective careers.
  3. Living the qualities of a role model – authenticity, courage, and resilience.

Selection Panel

 Vasudha Punyane, Student and Communications Manager, OFA

 Paige Wilcox, Activist and Director of State Development, OFA

 Luke Furness, Former CEO, OFA, and Senior Lawyer, Clayton Utz

 Stephanie White, Associate, BCG

Anna Green, Senior Partner & Managing Director BCG

30u30 winners for 2019

Connor Haas (Australian Capital Territory)

Oscar Kaspi-Crutchett (Australian Capital Territory)

Andrew Pagonis (New South Wales)

Charbel Zara (New South Wales)

Henness Hing Garm Wong (New South Wales)

Amber Loomis (New South Wales)

Delia Deng (New South Wales)

Jack Crane (New South Wales)

Sebastian Rodriguez Alarcon (New South Wales)

Chloe Bennett (Queensland)

Elise Stephenson (Queensland)

Maddison Harrington (Queensland)

Shaun D’Souza (Queensland)

Conor Cusack (Queensland)

Ashleigh Jensen (Queensland)

Ben Nielsen (South Australia)

Thomas Charles Fonua (South Australia)

Natrydd Sigurthur (South Australia)

Sean Henschke (South Australia)

Georgia Burke (Tasmania)

Liam Carswell (Tasmania)

James Lolicato (Victoria)

Liam Elphick (Victoria)

Mama Alto (Victoria)

Margot Fink (Victoria)

Nevo Zisin (Victoria)

Georgia Foulkes-Taylor (Western Australia)

Mackenzie Godson (Western Australia)

Tegan Harrington (Western Australia)

Thomas Drake-Brockman (Western Australia)

MC Jordan Raskopoulos, the sassy comedian, musician, and digital content creator and keynote speaker Dr. Kerryn Phelps AM, the first woman to be elected president of the Australian Medical Association (AMA), graced the remarkable night.

Leave a Reply